Counting Calories Doesn’t Have to be Boring

I have been counting calories using MyFitnessPal since January, and at first I was feeling quite limited in my food options. As the months have gone by, I have found some foods that I really enjoy, fill me up, and are low in calories. I want to share a few of them, in hopes of inspiring anyone in a food rut.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 1.35.17 AM

Egg white and oatmeal protein pancakes. During the week, I make a big batch of steel cut oats for breakfast that I bring to work, but on the weekend, I try to take some time and make myself something nice. If I’m going to the gym, I like to make these protein pancakes. They are delicious, but the texture is definitely not comparable to that of a traditional pancake. I like to top mine with chocolate PB2 (a powdered peanut butter), fresh berries, honey, and sometimes a dollop of whipped cream. You can find the recipe here.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 1.35.30 AM

A big spinach, strawberry, feta, walnut, and red onion salad with raspberry vinaigrette. Salads can get boring, but this one always appeals to me. It’s fresh and both sweet and savoury.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 1.35.55 AM

Skinnytaste turkey stuffed peppers. I like to meal prep my lunches for the week to stay on track, and these turkey stuffed peppers from Skinnytaste are delicious. At 184 calories per half, you can eat a few of these and call it a meal, or add a side  vegetable or salad.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 1.36.18 AM

Skinnytaste turkey taco chili soup. This is warm and comforting during the fall and winter months.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 1.36.47 AMTurkey meatballs. I make these lighter by using egg whites and quick oats instead of eggs and breadcrumbs. I  quickly brown the outsides in a frying pan before putting them in the slow cooker with some sauce. My favourite way to have these is over wilted spinach with some feta sprinkled on top.

Leave a Reply

