Eleven months and 40 lbs later

It’s been eight months since I last wrote about my weight loss journey (and 11 months since my journey began), but I have a great update on my progress. At the time of my last weight loss update in September 2013, I had lost six pounds. As of yesterday, I have lost 40 pounds, and 25 of those pounds have been lost since January.

I still work out a few times a week, and have continued doing well on my own since my personal training sessions ended in January. But I have learned that exercise can only take you so far – diet is what will truly bring results. Last year I was trying to eat better, but this January I started counting calories using MyFitnessPal and doing more meal prep, and my weight loss has sped up significantly.

MyFitnessPal makes it really easy to count calories. You input your height, activity level, goal weight, how much weight you want to lose per week, and it calculates how many calories you should eat per day, already taking into account a caloric deficit, so you don’t have to. You then add all of your food and drinks into the website or app on your phone. I never have a problem finding food to input from the database, and there is also a recipe builder so you can add your own meals.

Enough about that, I’ll let the photos speak for themselves.

 

Weight loss progress

 

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 1.21.54 PM

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 1.22.39 PMI’m about 20 pounds away from my goal weight, which means I’m 2/3 of the way there. I hope to achieve that by the end of the year, but there is no rush. I feel happier, healthier, and stronger already.

 

Leave a Reply

