Hiatus Update: ACPR Wrap Up

I’ve  neglected my blog for a while because the past few months have been very busy wrapping up my internship, job searching, and starting a new job! Now that I have a little more stability in my life, I can relax and get back to things like blogging. Here’s a brief update of what I have been up to since March:

Internship

I did an internship at the Canadian Electricity Association from January to April for the final component of my college diploma. It was fantastic! I was very happy to get hands-on training and not be in class anymore. My concerns going into the internship were whether I would have enough work to do, whether it would be challenging enough, and whether I would fit in. All of these concerns quickly disappeared when I started, because they had many different projects for me to work on and I fit in just fine. My colleagues were wonderful, and I learned a lot from everyone I worked with. I did shed a few tears on my last day because I was sad to go. What does the CEA do?

“Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) members generate, transmit and distribute electrical energy to industrial, commercial, residential and institutional customers across Canada every day. From vertically integrated electric utilities, to power marketers, to the manufacturers and suppliers of materials, technology and services that keep the industry running smoothly — all are represented by this national industry association.” Check out their website at www.electricity.ca.

Job Hunting

I started my job hunt near the beginning of March. Looking for a job is stressful, time consuming, and did I mention stressful? I wasn’t having much luck until I was referred for a government job. Networking is very important – it all comes down to who you know. There are two kinds of jobs out there: the visible jobs that are posted, and the invisible jobs that are never posted. This was one of those invisible jobs.

New Job

At the end of April, I started working at the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada. To sum it up, OSFI, ” is the primary regulator and supervisor of federally regulated deposit-taking institutions, insurance companies, and federally regulated private pension plans.” You can learn more on their website, http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/ I’m a Communications Services Officer, and my first few weeks have went very well.

Leave a Reply

