2013

2013 Social Media Resolutions

I hope you had a great New Year’s Eve! I checked out Sparks Street this year – it’s the first time (that I’m aware of) there has been a public celebration for NYE in Ottawa. There was music, food and drink tents, and lots of people. My boyfriend and I grabbed a bite to eat at Carmello’s and then headed back to the festivities. How did you ring in 2013?

Many people make New Year’s resolutions, but making social media resolutions has become trendy so I thought I would make my own. My general New Year’s resolutions are to lose 20 pounds (I lost 20 last year), get my first career job, and blog twice a month. My social media resolutions are to:

1. Continue creating relationships on Twitter.

My favourite social media platform is Twitter, and I think it will continue to be in 2013 (although I am also really loving Instagram). However, I have noticed I am falling into the trap of sharing links more than interacting with people, so I will work on cultivating relationships. When it comes to focusing on social media platforms, choose quality over quantity for you or your business – it’s better to be great in a few places than be mediocre in many.

2. Try out other social media platforms.

The networks I use regularly are Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, and Linkedin, but there are other networks out there like Reddit and Google + that I haven’t taken the time to explore. I have friends who are really into Reddit, so I would like to know what they’re so excited about and how to use it well. I don’t find Google + very interesting, but I want to become familiar with its features. If something else becomes big in 2013, I will make sure to check it out.

3. Expand my knowledge of social media.

Staying up to date in your field is essential for success and personal growth. If you stop learning, you stop growing. I already do a pretty good job with consuming lots of content from different places, but I would like to set aside a half hour each day for reading the latest news and trends.

What resolutions have you made? I hope you have a great 2013!

2013

Leave a Reply

